My First Year of Graduate School..Yay or Nay?

Embrace the glorious mess you are.” ~Elizabeth Gilbert

Have you ever seen this picture?


(Gillispie, L. 2015)

I found this depiction of graduate life while researching for different pictures to depict graduate life. The online publication was written by Liz Gillispie, in 2015, in an article titled, Creating Balance in Graduate School: The Ultimate Juggling Act (my post isn’t about this article, just wanted to give credit….you know like you should).

Anyway, I feel this chart correctly describes how my life has been for the past 10 months. Between independent research, homework, family, and a messed up love life, I’m surprised I found time for sleeping or eating. This past academic year has been an emotional and physical roller coaster. BUT! I definitely don’t regret anything……well not EVERYthing.

Somehow or another I managed to excel in all my classes and my two jobs. I realized a love for research (more qualitative than quantitative), a need for patience and stability in my life, and I realized I will never be able to read all the books this summer, from this school year, like I thought.

I got rejected from all 7 internships I applied to, only to get accepted into a research “internship” position! Funny how things work out, right?

I slowly started to realize I’m worth a lot more than what I was settling with and that I don’t deserve to be treated like trash or brought around whenever its most convenient for others. –> Yeah screw that s***!

Long story short, the past 10 months have taught me a lot and the main lesson I’ve learned is that in order for me to have the life I want and to get the things I want, the only person who can get them for me, is me. I have to put in the work and I need to trust myself and my choices. I need to take risks, which surprisingly I really have stepped up my game with this!

Stay with me everyone! I’m on to Carlisle, PA in a few weeks for the start of my new internship and I can’t wait to share my stories of a southern girl going up to the north for the first time!

Plus who can forget about my international travels coming up in September! Sprechen sie Deutsch? 😉

Anyway, deuces Greensboro!

Oh, by the way, here is that citation, before someone accuses me of plagiarism….

Gillispie, L. (2015). Creating Balance in Graduate School: The Ultimate Juggling Act.
ACSESS DL. Retrieved from: https://dl.sciencesocieties.org/publications
/csa/abstracts/60/5/36?access=0&view=article

 

 

Leave a Reply

