Women’s Rights Are What?

“Women’s Rights are Human Rights.” – Hillary Clinton

In light of recent events (Inauguration of President Donald Trump, embarrassments by the proposed Secretary of Education, Women’s Marches around the world, etc.) I’ve felt the need to jot down some thoughts.

This piece is solely based on my personal opinion so if you feel that I’m not politically correct….just send me a message.

Today I had the opportunity to march in the streets of the capital in my home state next to thousands of women, children, and men who, for a couple of hours, stood in solidarity with one another. It’s kind of hard to describe the feeling I had as I was walking with my friends holding a sign, which said “nicht mein fuhrer,” but all I can say is that I am in awe.

At a time where it seems as if our country is becoming more polarized, I feel there is a chance for the future. A chance where we no longer run institutions based on hate and discrimination. A chance where ALL people in the United States will be able to stand together and actually BE together. Maybe this is just a utopian dream, but…I need to be optimistic..right?

The fact of the matter is, the United States is a society filled with people from many different backgrounds, cultures, genders, orientations, races, religions, etc. We are all different. But today, I saw people willing to set aside differences to set the tone for the new administration. I haven’t lost hope in my country yet. I haven’t lost hope in people. Many around the world today marched for these exact same reasons. We leave with a message…

We are here. We are watching. We will speak up. We are the noisy majority!

P.S. If you haven’t been able to keep up with some of the marches that have happened…here is a link to the New York Times and their article, “Pictures From Around The World .” https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2017/01/21/world/womens-march-pictures.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

