Make The Nation of Immigrants Great Again

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language, and next year’s words await another voice.”
~ T.S. Eliot

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since I last posted something…I didn’t realize how much graduate school would actually take over my life! The end of the year is coming up and in light of recent events, I’ve been wanting to write for a while.

Everyone knows that Donald Trump is the new President – Elect for the United States. Before I go on, let me state that these are my own views and they may not be what you agree with. Please respect the fact that I have different opinions and views and I will respect you for yours. But, I am honestly not surprised that he has become our newly elected President. Why? Because he played everyone! He played everyone’s fears! He ran a campaign based solely on hate and let’s “Make America Great Again!” …News flash people… America was built off the backs of minorities and they were never treated with the dignity and respect they deserved. The United States has never actually stood for the values we so proudly exclaim to have. Donald Trump saw a corrupt system and made it his own personal playground. The next four years will truly be a test to the American people..I just hope we pass.

I will never truly understand what is like to be a person of color in the United States. I know the power of privilege and I can see how it has benefited me in this country. But, this does not mean I cannot speak up for those who are scared to. This does not mean that I won’t speak up and do my best to protect my friends who I care for.

Despite the news of this election and the hate I’ve seen spread around since then, I have hope in this country. I’ve stated in other blog posts that I am proud to be an American. This has not changed. The United States is my home and I know we can be great. This election needs to be a reality check to those of us who don’t take our own politics seriously (Harambe for President…really?) and to those who don’t even bother to vote. Yes, the electoral college sucks…but your vote still counts! The next four years hasn’t necessarily been decided for us, we can still work to make the changes happen. Join those marches, organizations, or protests. Speak up when you see xenophobia, racism, and other forms of discrimination. You! You have the power to make a difference. STOP BEING SILENT

This post isn’t being written to call out voters for not voting for Clinton or Johnson. We have a democracy and you have the right to vote for who you want. I will respect anyone who can come to me and give me good reasons for why they voted for their candidate, but you have to understand the outcomes. You need to understand the people you’ve elected into office. Do you know anything about Mike Pence? What about the people now being pulled into Trump’s administration? Do you actually know the movement that has been created in the image of Trump? I see on social media, people I’ve known for years, laugh at those who are scared and call them names because they won’t “accept Trump.” Shouldn’t you try to understand the position they are coming from? You expect them to just accept everything and to accept your position, but you don’t offer the same courtesy? LISTEN

So, I’ve now spoke my peace…and I’m gonna be expecting the phone calls..especially since it’s the Thanksgiving Holiday. How to move forward from here? I’m open to suggestions.

Leave a Reply

